Autor de la hebra: Frank Leon
Frank Leon
Frank Leon
Estados Unidos
Local time: 14:22
inglés al español
+ ...
Jan 8, 2016

I've been translating for over 3 years now however I am new to the professional translation service industry.

Here is my question: If I receive a translation project with 245 words and my translation ends up with 253 words, what will be my rate? Would I charge my client for 245 words or do I charge for the amount of words the translation required? In this case, 253.

Thank you all!

Michael Wetzel
Michael Wetzel  Identity Verified
Alemania
Local time: 23:22
alemán al inglés
write "per source word" or "per target word" Jan 8, 2016

I had always assumed that words "per source word" was the absolute norm, but there was a poll here recently and a significant amount of people seem to charge per target word. You need to specify what you mean by "word" in your offer and check the definition in the purchase order.

I charge per source word, although my fee would look lower (that is, the number would be smaller) if I were to convert it into a fee per target word. I prefer to use the source text, because it makes estima
... See more
I had always assumed that words "per source word" was the absolute norm, but there was a poll here recently and a significant amount of people seem to charge per target word. You need to specify what you mean by "word" in your offer and check the definition in the purchase order.

I charge per source word, although my fee would look lower (that is, the number would be smaller) if I were to convert it into a fee per target word. I prefer to use the source text, because it makes estimates unnecessary and prevents the unpleasant surprises they can lead to.
Collapse

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Word-for-word Rates: SL or TL charging policy

Trados Business Manager Lite