Stressed out... vacation suggestions needed
Thread poster: Doreen Stacey
Doreen Stacey
Doreen Stacey
United States
Dec 29, 2014

I have been working without breaks for the last 5 years. I have been enjoying my work that I have forgotten to take some time off. Recently, I suddenly felt so tired and wanting to have a vacation which my superiors approved of. The thing is, I have no idea where to go. I just want to relax, to read and enjoy a view. Any suggestions?

Diana Coada (X)
Diana Coada (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:35
Portuguese to English
+ ...
You've got Dec 29, 2014

Hawaii and the Caribbean islands right next to you...

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:35
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Rent Dec 29, 2014

Doreen Stacey wrote:

I have been working without breaks for the last 5 years. I have been enjoying my work that I have forgotten to take some time off. Recently, I suddenly felt so tired and wanting to have a vacation which my superiors approved of. The thing is, I have no idea where to go. I just want to relax, to read and enjoy a view. Any suggestions?

Rent an apt as high up as possible, in midtown Manhattan. It's quiet up there, and the view is pleasing by day and night. Lots of good bookshops close by.

[Edited at 2014-12-29 17:57 GMT]

Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 13:35
Italian to English
Enviable position! Dec 29, 2014

I envy you... I wish my only problem was deciding where to go!

You don't give us much to go on! What does relaxation mean to you? Is it a city or a remote island community? You say you want a view... tropical beach or snow-capped mountains?

What's your budget? Five-star hotel or something kinder to your wallet?

Paul Lambert
Paul Lambert  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2006)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Pitcairn Dec 29, 2014