Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 09:21
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Nov 8, 2011

How do you pronounce this word and others with "gn" like Magnolia?

I have no knowledge of classical Greek (μάγνης), and always pronounce mag-net (the vowels of course are language-dependent). But I hear often people say mang-net, producing a nasal sound.

So I would like, am I with the majority or in the minority.

Regards
Heinrich

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:21
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
As in "magnolia". Nov 8, 2011

I never say "mangnet". Sounds funny!

Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:21
French to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Dyslexia lures, KO? Nov 8, 2011

Yes, they are pronounced mag-net and mag-nolia (and mag-nificent!).
Perhaps the people who say mang-net, etc. are dyslexic and see the letters in the wrong order ?
Jenny

Ty Kendall
Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Hebrew to English
2 syllables mæg●nət Nov 8, 2011

mæg●nət is how I'd pronounce it, with the second vowel being a schwa, as it is unstressed. The "g" and "n" are is separate syllables so a "ng" pronunciation is unlikely, unless issues of dyslexia etc are involved.

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
GN Nov 8, 2011

I agree with everyone: magnet is indeed pronounced mag-net.
There are exceptions, of course, such as cognac and vignette, of French origin.

Is this going to iGNite a maGNnificent and diGNified discussion? Or is it a siGNal that we're all going to aGNee for once?

Rachel Fell
Rachel Fell  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
Nit Nov 8, 2011

I usually pronounce it more like "magnit" rather than with a schwa - but never as "mangnit".

[Edited at 2011-11-08 09:08 GMT]

Michael Wetzel
Michael Wetzel  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
never heard mang-net Nov 8, 2011