Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Potential implications of Syriza triumph in Greece in terms of currency, rates and billing
Thread poster: Huw Watkins
Huw Watkins
Huw Watkins  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:36
Member (2005)
Italian to English
+ ...
Jan 26, 2015

I am a UK-based translator who works predominantly with EU-based agencies. I may be getting way ahead of myself here, but I am starting to mentally prepare for some potentially very significant changes in the EU set-up in the coming years.

If Greece ends up dropping out of the single currency, it may really open the door to the rest of the struggling Southern European countries to follow suit - I'm thinking particularly of Italy, Spain and Portugal. While I only work with Greek-base
... See more
I am a UK-based translator who works predominantly with EU-based agencies. I may be getting way ahead of myself here, but I am starting to mentally prepare for some potentially very significant changes in the EU set-up in the coming years.

If Greece ends up dropping out of the single currency, it may really open the door to the rest of the struggling Southern European countries to follow suit - I'm thinking particularly of Italy, Spain and Portugal. While I only work with Greek-based agencies on rare occasions, the other countries are definitely ones I work with quite regularly.

Has anyone else been thinking about this? How would you go about billing them? If their currencies get significantly devalued to combat the economic climate does it mean that we are looking at a rates drop to match?

My thoughts have been to potentially swap from billing in EUR to billing in GBP. What are people's impression of this approach?
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Far too soon Jan 26, 2015

You're getting away ahead of yourself. Keep calm and carry on.

Alexander Matsyuk
Alexander Matsyuk  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 01:36
English to Russian
+ ...