Idiomas de trabajo:
inglés a noruego
español a noruego

Gjert Hermansen
Cultural awareness & common sense!

Bergen, Hordaland, Noruega

Idioma materno: noruego Native in noruego
  • PayPal accepted
  • Send message through
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
No hay comentarios
  Display standardized information

I am a social and creative person who loves languages and linguistics, teaching, music and other cultural and creative art forms and activities. I am currently doing my MA degree in Spanish & Latin American studies at the University of Bergen, from where I also have my two BA degrees (Spanish & Latin American Studies and Political Science), a one year program (undergraduate) of Psychology, a one year program (undergraduate) of English Linguistics and Literature and a one year professional program of Practical Pedagogy (Teacher Education Programme).

At the same time as I'm completing my MA, I'm trying to use my language skills through taking jobs as a freelance translator – mostly from English to Norwegian, but also from Spanish to Norwegian.

Although I have no formal translation education, and little experience in the field, I regard myself as highly capable of producing excellent translations from English and Spanish to Norwegian. All my life I have been very fond of languages, and I have an analytical, conscious and reflective relationship with them. In middle school and high school I studied French for six years, and didn't start studying Spanish until the spring of 2013, but I now consider myself fluent, without ever having stayed in a Spanish speaking country for more than three weeks at a time. I still understand a decent amount of French, and could most likely manage translating from French to Norwegian and English, but I wouldn't call myself fluent. During the spring semester of 2012, I studied as an exchange student at UC Berkeley, where all classes and curricula were in English. I like to read, and have read quite a lot of literature both in Norwegian and English, as well as some in Spanish – while studying English I read and analyzed lots of both classical and modern English literature and poetry. Through my studies of English and Spanish, I have also learned much about phonetics, phonology, transcription, and, of course, grammar.

I have also been working as a substitute teacher while studying (mostly in the subjects of Spanish, English and Social Sciences, but also others), as a barista and salesperson at an organic bakery, café and sandwich bar, as a personal assistant for a physically handicapped lawyer, and as an assistant at a respite care facility for multi disabled children – all in my hometown of Bergen, Norway. In the fall of 2012, I volunteered as a journalist for Bergen's biggest, and Norway's second biggest, student newspaper, Studvest ( In addition, I use as much time as I can on nurturing my other great passion: music. I play, sing and write songs in various bands and projects of widely different genres – in different languages and on different instruments – and have as a goal to release at least one excellent album with each of them (with some bands, we already have some releases), and play lots of concerts.

I also love to travel, and have visited many countries all over Europe, as well as the US, Peru, Turkey, Georgia, Armenia, Egypt, Israel, Jordan and 10 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa: South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda and Ethiopia. I enjoying getting to know new countries and learn about their cultures, societies, history, geography – and whatever I can learn of their languages. Together with this interest of different countries and its peoples, as well as my social, creative, flexible and artistic personality and positive attitude, I think my range of academic merits and extensive work experience provide me with versatile and solid knowledge of different aspects of the world. This enhances both my cultural awareness and my common sense, something that in turn, I believe, greatly benefits both my general language skills and my abilities as a translator.

Última actualización del perfil
Dec 2, 2015

More translators and interpreters: inglés a noruego - español a noruego   More language pairs

Your current localization setting


Select a language

All of
  • All of
  • Búsqueda de términos
  • Trabajos
  • Foros
  • Multiple search