Your Translating Experiences- communication, client expectations, difficullt clients etc
Thread poster: marijaflora
marijaflora
marijaflora
Australia
Local time: 18:16
Bosnian to English
+ ...
May 22, 2020

Hi everyone,

I am new to Proz and would like to become a Translator. I speak Serbo-croatian and English at a native level, and also can read Russian.
I have not undergone any formal training yet however. I have only completed a few translation jobs thus far, and I feel now that I should get lots of advice + undertake study before trying to translate as I'm not yet at a place to be a professional translator.

My lack of experience was brought to my attention in a ha
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am new to Proz and would like to become a Translator. I speak Serbo-croatian and English at a native level, and also can read Russian.
I have not undergone any formal training yet however. I have only completed a few translation jobs thus far, and I feel now that I should get lots of advice + undertake study before trying to translate as I'm not yet at a place to be a professional translator.

My lack of experience was brought to my attention in a harsh way by my last client. The job was to translate a University personal statement letter into English & I was advised to keep the meaning in tact but at same time make it sound more professional in English.
I clearly misunderstood the brief as I made approx 25 % changes to the wording to make the letter sound more polished in English (in essence editing it).
Short story, the client was VERY unhappy, stated it was "very awful", changing the wording was not allowed, & basically berated me (borderline abusively) that I shouldn't be doing such work unless I could do it with "dignity".
I didn't offer him revisions as I didn't feel he was open to them.