Views/consensus on puncutation in subtitles?
Thread poster: Ruby Phelps
Ruby Phelps
Ruby Phelps  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 15:24
Chinese to English
May 24, 2020

Hi all,

I'm new to subtitling and I apologise if this question has come up on these forums before! I understand there is some difference of views regarding whether or not you should include some kinds of punctuation in subtitles, and that these conventions vary by language/region. I'm thinking mainly about things like full stops/periods and commas at the ends of lines, rather than question marks or exclamation marks.

I translate from Chinese to English, and in Chinese
... See more
Hi all,

I'm new to subtitling and I apologise if this question has come up on these forums before! I understand there is some difference of views regarding whether or not you should include some kinds of punctuation in subtitles, and that these conventions vary by language/region. I'm thinking mainly about things like full stops/periods and commas at the ends of lines, rather than question marks or exclamation marks.

I translate from Chinese to English, and in Chinese it is standard to leave out lots of the punctuation, including most full stops, commas and so on.

Any views on the conventions in English?

If the client has no strong preference, or is unsure, do you think it is better to add the appropriate punctuation back in, or leave it out?
Collapse

Sarper Aman
Sarper Aman  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 10:24
Member (2019)
English to Turkish
+ ...
Guidelines May 24, 2020

Hello Ruby,