Gloria Černoch
Gloria Černoch
United States
Local time: 04:50
English to German
+ ...
Mar 3, 2020

Hello everyone.
I am just getting started and literally just set up my profile yesterday. Today, I have received an email from a non-member regarding a 43 page translation (general) with the offer to send a cashiers check once completed. Are services sometimes paid via cashiers check or am I just being gullible?
Any tips and advice for a newbie would be helpful. I would really appreciate it.

Andrea Capuselli
Andrea Capuselli
Local time: 05:50
SITE STAFF
SITE LOCALIZER
I have moved your post to the Scams forum because this is a common scam. Mar 3, 2020

Dear Gloria,

Welcome to ProZ.com! Glad to have you here.

I'm sorry to say that you have been contacted by a scammer. The check scam is very common across most online industries nowadays (illustrators, programmers and graphic designers are targeted as well). As a general rule, my advice is that you simply do not accept payments via check; unless you are working for the government or a local, legally registered, physically reachable company.

These two are
... See more
Dear Gloria,

Welcome to ProZ.com! Glad to have you here.

I'm sorry to say that you have been contacted by a scammer. The check scam is very common across most online industries nowadays (illustrators, programmers and graphic designers are targeted as well). As a general rule, my advice is that you simply do not accept payments via check; unless you are working for the government or a local, legally registered, physically reachable company.

These two are the fake check scams that show up most often:

http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Translator_scam_alert_reports#August_26.2C_2019:_Advance_payment_.2F_impersonation_of_ProZ.com_member:_translation_of_Research_Project_on_Agricultural_reforms_in_EU