How can I get my translation into the source format including its pictures and tables?
Thread poster: Jose Lobo
Jose Lobo
Jose Lobo
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:28
Member (2020)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 16, 2020

I am new to OmegaT. I just downloaded the previous version (4.0) which according to the website is more stable than the last one and I am struggling to find info on how to create a file with my translation using the very same format of the source (e.g. Words with pictures and tables, Excel, Powerpoint, pdf, etc.)

I have been searching this forum and I couldn't find any help in previous topics so far. Would you mind helping me with the steps I should follow? Thank you very much.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:28
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Jose Jun 16, 2020

Jose Lobo wrote:
I just downloaded the previous version (4.0) which according to the website is more stable than the last one.

In my opinion, the latest version (5.2.0) is quite stable. The way translation and creation of the translated files happen, is the same in both versions, however.

and I am struggling to find info on how to create a file with my translation using the very same format of the source (e.g. Words with pictures and tables, Excel, Powerpoint, pdf, etc.)

The short answer is: press Ctrl+D and then look in the /target/ folder. Or using the menu: Project > Create Translated Documents.

Can you already see the source text in OmegaT's editor? I mean, were you able to do a translation, and now you're just looking for a way to create the final translated files?

Jose Lobo
Jose Lobo
United Kingdom
Member (2020)
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
@Samuel Murray Jun 16, 2020

Thank you Samuel for your help.