Paying a fee for one or more translation jobs?
Thread poster: Dario Pastore
Dario Pastore
Dario Pastore
Italy
Local time: 02:11
English to Italian
+ ...
May 27, 2020

Hi everyone.
This is my first time writing on this forum.

There's a matter on which I wish to ask you, ladies and gentlemen, for an opinion.
I'm in the midst of negotiating a deal with a company in Perù that deals with translations of documents and audio conferences.
My contact has some translation assignments on behalf of a British translation company, which she plans to send me after a test that I successfully completed.
However, my Peruvian contact who is
... See more
Hi everyone.

There's a matter on which I wish to ask you, ladies and gentlemen, for an opinion.
I'm in the midst of negotiating a deal with a company in Perù that deals with translations of documents and audio conferences.
My contact has some translation assignments on behalf of a British translation company, which she plans to send me after a test that I successfully completed.
However, my Peruvian contact who is working as the intermediary, claims that it is more convenient for every involved party if I pay a fee to the Peruvian company once a month, or once every two months, for every assigned project. 
The official reason for this is that if payments will be forwarded from Britain to Peru, the bank charges will be "exorbitant". 
This doesn’t sound completely honest, and I feel that this is fee is instead supposed to cover a commission cost for the Peruvian company.

My question then is the following:
Is it normal for a translator to pay a fee for one or more assigned projects?
Collapse

Robert Rietvelt
Robert Rietvelt  Identity Verified
Member (2006)
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
NO! May 27, 2020

Dario Pastore wrote:

Hi everyone.