Emily Gilby
Emily Gilby  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:07
Member (2018)
French to English
+ ...
Nov 2, 2020

I'm still fairly new to memoQ so apologies if this is a simple question!

A PM asked me to provide clean and unclean files on delivery (their company uses Trados). Before accepting the job, I asked whether an SDLXLIFF file and a Trados DOC/RTF file were what they needed and they said yes. I translated the file from the SDLXLIFF file that they sent in memoQ and sent them the SDLXLIFF and Trados DOC/RTF files when I'd finished. The SDLXLIFF was fine but they replied saying that the Tra
... See more
I'm still fairly new to memoQ so apologies if this is a simple question!

A PM asked me to provide clean and unclean files on delivery (their company uses Trados). Before accepting the job, I asked whether an SDLXLIFF file and a Trados DOC/RTF file were what they needed and they said yes. I translated the file from the SDLXLIFF file that they sent in memoQ and sent them the SDLXLIFF and Trados DOC/RTF files when I'd finished. The SDLXLIFF was fine but they replied saying that the Trados DOC/RTF (which was exported as a Word doc on my end) had tags in it and so they had to reconvert the file themselves. Could someone tell me how to export an unclean file for Trados? When I exported, I chose "Export bilingual" and selected "Trados DOC/RTF" and did not alter the boxes below that were already checked. My memoQ version is 9.1.

I've read something about the PM having to "presegment" the file before sending it so I'm not sure if this was a problem on my end or on theirs. Any clarity would be greatly appreciated, I always panic when accepting Trados files in case something like this happens!
Collapse

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 03:07
English to Russian
SDLXLIFF = unclean, native file = clean Nov 2, 2020