Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
How to have harmonious relationships when you work from home?
Thread poster: NataliaAnne
NataliaAnne
NataliaAnne  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 10:34
Portuguese to English
Feb 22, 2013

When I started out as a freelancer, I lived alone. While this had its downsides, namely lots of solitude, it was also very conducive to getting work done. My life circumstances have changed and I now live with my partner and several other relatives (it’s a long story, suffice to say that this is a given for the foreseeable future). While I have my own separate office – which is even at the very back of the house, so it’s quiet – I feel like I’m really struggling to deal with the dual f... See more
When I started out as a freelancer, I lived alone. While this had its downsides, namely lots of solitude, it was also very conducive to getting work done. My life circumstances have changed and I now live with my partner and several other relatives (it’s a long story, suffice to say that this is a given for the foreseeable future). While I have my own separate office – which is even at the very back of the house, so it’s quiet – I feel like I’m really struggling to deal with the dual function of living and working in the same place. While it helps that my office is clearly a designated work-zone, it can still be hard to draw boundaries; I feel like I’m either distracted from my work, or annoying my family. I’ll give some examples to be more specific.