Thread poster: N Andersson
N Andersson
N Andersson
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:07
English to Swedish
Jul 5, 2010

Hello everyone,

I am new to the translation industry. I wonder how and where you can find books/literature to translate (or proofread)?
I search for jobs online quite extensively in both my languages, and (apart from the odd technically orientated book) I never see books being offered for translation. I have for example not yet seen any translation jobs for fictional books being advertised.
I have looked at some major publishing companies’ websites, but again, no wo
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am new to the translation industry. I wonder how and where you can find books/literature to translate (or proofread)?
I search for jobs online quite extensively in both my languages, and (apart from the odd technically orientated book) I never see books being offered for translation. I have for example not yet seen any translation jobs for fictional books being advertised.
I have looked at some major publishing companies’ websites, but again, no work. So where are the book jobs? Is there a special website where you can bid on literature projects specifically? I would be very grateful for any tips. Thank you.
Collapse

abrahimnassa

Attila Piróth
Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:07
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Local contacts Jul 5, 2010

Publishers usually have their regular pool of translators, and they rarely turn to the internet to look for new translators. When they need new ones, they often get suggestions from their own translators – so word of mouth is also an important factor to consider. "Bidding" is not exactly the terms I would use, as it has a very strong taste of inverse auction, but even the more neutral "quoting" does not work the same way for publishers as for agencies. For agencies, it is a common scenario tha... See more