Learning to use CAT tools with no TMs
Thread poster: Hal D'Arpini
Hal D'Arpini
Hal D'Arpini  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:18
French to English
+ ...
Nov 20, 2011

This may not be exactly the right forum for this question, but it's the closest I could find.

I'm a new translator and am using demo versions of some CAT tools, in part to learn how to use them. I understand that I need to build up TMs and termbases, but in the meantime it's difficult to see how they work without TMs and termbases to work with. So far, I've worked on one project with a CAT tool, but it was basially using the side-by-side feature to manually translate the text (whi
... See more
This may not be exactly the right forum for this question, but it's the closest I could find.

I'm a new translator and am using demo versions of some CAT tools, in part to learn how to use them. I understand that I need to build up TMs and termbases, but in the meantime it's difficult to see how they work without TMs and termbases to work with. So far, I've worked on one project with a CAT tool, but it was basially using the side-by-side feature to manually translate the text (which I could have done with Word). Therefore, I was only able to learn a few of the tool's features, not its most central feature.

To those of you who have been using CAT tools for awhile, what did you do when you first started? Did you just bite the bullet and learn how to use your CAT tool as you built your TMs, or were you able to find pre-built TMs that helped you to understand more quickly how to use it?

I've found a site where I can buy aligned TMs, which may be an option for my specialties later on, but for the moment I'm just trying to find a quick way to practice and thereby undestand how CAT tools work. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Collapse

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...