Sonja Tomaskovic (X)
Sonja Tomaskovic (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 16:03
English to German
+ ...
Oct 25, 2003

Hello,

I have a Word2000 file with a TOC. So far I have not had the opportunity of translating one, so I am actually new to this.

I'd therefore appreciate if someone could give me some help:
- How can I access the headlines? At the moment each click gets me straight to the chapter.
- Is there any chance I can have Wordfast translate it automatically?

TIA.

Regards,

Sonja...
See more
Hello,

I have a Word2000 file with a TOC. So far I have not had the opportunity of translating one, so I am actually new to this.

I'd therefore appreciate if someone could give me some help:
- How can I access the headlines? At the moment each click gets me straight to the chapter.
- Is there any chance I can have Wordfast translate it automatically?

TIA.

Regards,

Sonja

[Edited at 2003-10-25 15:44]
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
No need to access automatic ToCs Oct 25, 2003

Hi Sonja,
I assume this is a dynamic table of contents created in MS Word. The link behaviour is a tell-tale sign - another is that the entire table is greyed out once you touch it.

There's no need to access the ToC - just translate the individual chapter/section headers (which make up the ToC) and update the ToC (F9) once you have finished the translation and cleaned up.

A couple of points to note:

- Be careful not to tamper with the styles used to f
... See more
Hi Sonja,
I assume this is a dynamic table of contents created in MS Word. The link behaviour is a tell-tale sign - another is that the entire table is greyed out once you touch it.

There's no need to access the ToC - just translate the individual chapter/section headers (which make up the ToC) and update the ToC (F9) once you have finished the translation and cleaned up.

A couple of points to note: