What's an EPS file?
Thread poster: Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 02:28
German to English
Jul 23, 2003

Someone sent me an EPS file containing the ATA (American Translators Association) logo. I'm thinking about adding it to my profile page but don't know how to open it or paste it into the profile page. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Kim

Christopher Schmidt
Christopher Schmidt  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:28
German to English
+ ...
eps = encapsulated postscript Jul 23, 2003

It's an encapsulated PostScript file - I'm no expert, but I believe it's for vector graphics (at least that's one use for the format). You can open it with graphics programs such as Illustrator and Freehand as well as import it into PageMaker (and probably Frame).

cs

Harry Bornemann
Harry Bornemann  Identity Verified
Mexico
English to German
+ ...
a very useful format Jul 23, 2003

You can simply copy and paste it into Word97 or XP and save that Word file in HTML format. This will produce a .gif file suitable for upload and display in the web.

To paste it into your profile page you need some webspace to upload it via ftp and store it. Then you can insert a link to that URL into your profile.

[Edited at 2003-07-23 15:34]

Kim Metzger
Mexico
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
But the problem is Jul 23, 2003

the file was sent to me as several versions of the logo in a Zip.file, which I unzipped. When I click on one of the files I get a file conversion box with gibberish. I guess I would need a graphics program to open it, as sevenhertz suggests.

Harry Bornemann
Harry Bornemann  Identity Verified
Mexico
English to German
+ ...
I don't think you need a graphics program Jul 23, 2003

Kim Metzger wrote:
...When I click on one of the files I get a file conversion box with gibberish. I guess I would need a graphics program to open it, as sevenhertz suggests.