Thread poster: AC Lincoln
AC Lincoln
AC Lincoln
United States
Local time: 10:21
English to Japanese
+ ...
Mar 4, 2020

I am a graduate student researching two different rail industry termbases: the UIC's RailLexic and the RTRI's Railway Technical Terminology Dictionary. Neither of these resources follow TBX conventions for data categories or formatting.

For practicing translators, how important is it that terminological resources be in TBX format and/or contain TBX specific data categories (e.g. definition, part of speech, gender, usage status, etc.)

Marjolein Snippe
Marjolein Snippe  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 16:21
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Not very Mar 5, 2020

As long as a glossary can be converted to something that will open in excel, I can edit it in excel and import it into an existing glossary or save it as a new glossary.

AC Lincoln
Jorge Payan

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 16:21
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@AC Mar 5, 2020

aclincoln wrote:
For practicing translators, how important is it that terminological resources be in TBX format and/or contain TBX specific data categories (e.g. definition, part of speech, gender, usage status, etc.)?

The format of the glossary or termbase doens't matter, as long as the translator's CAT tool can read it. Some CAT tools are capable of exporting and/or importing glossaries in TBX format, but in most of the projects that I work in, very few of the terms have data category information attached to them (and in cases where they do, the values are often not truly useful). If a translator does download a termbase in TBX format from somewhere, he's not going to use it in TBX format but convert it to his own CAT tool's own format, which may or may not include the same data categories as the original file.

In what formats are those two glossaries of yours, and in what program do you usually open them?

esperantisto
esperantisto  Identity Verified