Thread poster: Lioba Multer
Lioba Multer
Lioba Multer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:11
English to German
+ ...
Aug 20, 2019

Does anyone know of a contract template I can use? As a freelancer I have a hard time getting paid or getting paid on time lately. Does anyone of you ask for a down payment and if so, what percentage?

Thanks!

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 14:11
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Lioba Aug 21, 2019

I wonder if a signed contract would make a bad-payer become suddenly a good payer and you don’t need a signed contract to take them to court (at least not in Europe), all you need is the emails exchanged.

Over the years I’ve asked down or advance payments (from 30% to 50%) to first-time clients if the job is over a certain amount (in my case €1,000). Some tend to disappear right away, others pay gladly...

Philippe Etienne
Sheila Wilson
Tina Vonhof (X)
Andriy Yasharov

Paweł Hamerski
Paweł Hamerski
Poland
Local time: 15:11
English to Polish
+ ...
It is always the buyer who draws up a contract, practically never the seller so Aug 21, 2019

why are you asking for a template?

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:11
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
There are better ways of doing business than relying on contractual clauses Aug 21, 2019

If you manage the risks correctly, there should be little need for contracts (at least those legalese ones) or advance payments for small jobs. Each job is relatively small, so if the client is legitimate and you do a reasonable job, then there should be no problem. I have to say that I've never felt the need to ask a B2B client for an advance for a "normal" job. It's different for B2C clients, who are happy to pay in advance, and for B2B clients who order a book-length translation. The latter w... See more