Thread poster: José J. Martínez
José J. Martínez
José J. Martínez  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:49
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 17, 2018

Business is down since mid-year...what is happening? I have been translating as an Outsourcer since 2007. The business was normally less during the hot months but lately I have had weeks of zero jobs.

I have a hunch that many persons are charging less and less, some are using machine translation and that is why they can do that (that is my theory). Possibly some are using CATs that are becoming more popular than others and if one does not have that CAT, the disqualification is immed
... See more
Business is down since mid-year...what is happening? I have been translating as an Outsourcer since 2007. The business was normally less during the hot months but lately I have had weeks of zero jobs.

I have a hunch that many persons are charging less and less, some are using machine translation and that is why they can do that (that is my theory). Possibly some are using CATs that are becoming more popular than others and if one does not have that CAT, the disqualification is immediate.

Please, an opinion of what is happening.
Collapse

sdvplatt

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

Options Sep 17, 2018

My experience in avoiding your situation:

Get certified

Join your state and national translators/interpreters association

Undertake regular professional development

Keep up with the game!

The rates on your profile are already painfully low, not all clients are looking for the cheapest option.

Best of luck!

DJH

Yolanda Broad
Andriy Yasharov
José Henrique Lamensdorf
Christophe Delaunay
Christophe Charlec
Adrián Sánchez Alcón
Meredith Nikides

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:49
German to English
Fluctuations hard to predict Sep 17, 2018