Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Intra-community VAT Number - is it necessary?
Thread poster: Carla Davidson
Carla Davidson
Carla Davidson  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 1, 2010

Dear all,

I am a freelance translator based in the UK. I work for companies in the UK and Spain in particular. One translation agency I work with that is based in Spain has asked me to provide them with an intra-community VAT number.

I called the HMRC on the special VAT helpline, and they know of no such VAT number. My client is adamant that I need this VAT number otherwise I will not be able to do any more work for them or for anyone else in Europe (outside of the UK
... See more
Dear all,

I am a freelance translator based in the UK. I work for companies in the UK and Spain in particular. One translation agency I work with that is based in Spain has asked me to provide them with an intra-community VAT number.

I called the HMRC on the special VAT helpline, and they know of no such VAT number. My client is adamant that I need this VAT number otherwise I will not be able to do any more work for them or for anyone else in Europe (outside of the UK,my country of residence, that is).

I am not sure where else to look and am not sure I really need to provide this intra-community VAT number. I understand that this Intra-community VAT number is perhaps your VAT number (if you are VAT registered) with your country of residence in front of it, so GB xxxxxxx. I am not VAT registered as my earnings are below £60,000 and I have been told by HMRC that VAT registration is voluntary if you earn below this amount.

My client has suggested I might have to register for VAT, in order to provide them with the intra-community VAT number but my earnings are such that I don't think registering for VAT is beneficial to me at this time.