Thread poster: Arshingul Akylbekova (X)
Arshingul Akylbekova (X)
Arshingul Akylbekova (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:49
English to Russian
Apr 17, 2018

Hello

I am a newbie in the translation world and I am just getting to grips with translation software. Can anyone recommend the best software to use on a Mac? If there is more than one, which one is the best in terms of value for money?

I thought I can work with MemoQ but apparently my computer doesn't support Microsoft Windows applications

Also, does anyone offer online classes/workshops on
... See more
Hello

I am a newbie in the translation world and I am just getting to grips with translation software. Can anyone recommend the best software to use on a Mac? If there is more than one, which one is the best in terms of value for money?

I thought I can work with MemoQ but apparently my computer doesn't support Microsoft Windows applications

Also, does anyone offer online classes/workshops on "how to complete your first professional translation" ?

I got my first translation order (although on a pro-bono basis) which consists of two scanned documents. My understanding is that I need to:

- convert them into word documents;
- upload them into MemoQ or other translation software;
- run checks to make sure they have converted correctly (no idea as to how this is done);
- start translating (and creating translation lists and translation memories - again no idea what this is or how it works)
- complete translation; check for spelling mistakes;
- send to client.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Collapse

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Wordfast Pro Apr 17, 2018

I've only ever worked on a Mac and Wordfast hasn't let me down yet!

They give you a one-month trial, give it a try!

John Di Rico

ttp_doza (X)
ttp_doza (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:49
English to German
+ ...