Inacio Steinhardt
Inacio Steinhardt  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 18:06
Hebrew to Portuguese
+ ...
Aug 18, 2014

Dear Coleagues,

For a study unrelated to my work as a translator I am looking for somebody with knowledge of ancient Arabic, which could kindly tell me or confirm the meaning of the word ISHBUNA (or similar) in the Arabic language of +- 1000 CE
The information I received is that it means HARBOUR, but I didn't find any confirmation.
If you know the answer or if you can recomend an authority to whom I can write, please writ
... See more
Dear Coleagues,

For a study unrelated to my work as a translator I am looking for somebody with knowledge of ancient Arabic, which could kindly tell me or confirm the meaning of the word ISHBUNA (or similar) in the Arabic language of +- 1000 CE
The information I received is that it means HARBOUR, but I didn't find any confirmation.
If you know the answer or if you can recomend an authority to whom I can write, please write to me at [email protected]

Thank you
Collapse

eyes-only
eyes-only
Afghanistan
Meaning of ISHBUNA in ancient Arabic Sep 27, 2014

can you plz write it in arabic ?

then it will be easier for me to find the right word and help you with it

Inacio Steinhardt
Israel
Hebrew to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Meaning of ISHBUNA in ancient Arabic Sep 28, 2014

Sorry, but I don't know Arabic.
I think that now it is writen Lishbuna (from Al-Isbuna).
But what I am looking for is the meaning of Ishbuna in ancient Arabic of the Iberian Pensinsula (7th. century aproximately).
I have been told that it mean "the harbour", but the schollar who told me this doesn't know Arabic.

LEXpert
LEXpert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:06
Member (2008)
Croatian to English
+ ...
On the right track Sep 28, 2014