What are the most popular CAT tools used or required by translation agencies?
Thread poster: Dolores Math (X)
Dolores Math (X)
Dolores Math (X)
France
Local time: 18:48
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Nov 24, 2015

Hello All,

I've never used any CAT tools before. What are the most popular ones used/required by translation agencies? Appreciate your help. Thank you.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2015-11-24 18:57 GMT]

Serena Basili
Serena Basili  Identity Verified
Belgium
English to Italian
+ ...
Hello Dolores! Nov 24, 2015

I guess that the most used are Trados Studio (2011/2014/2015) and MemoQ, but there is plenty of CAT tools available: MateCat, Cafetran, Fluency, etc....

Anyway working with a CAT tool is not compulsory, I don't use them for example

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Spend some time learning about them Nov 24, 2015

A lot of translators hate CAT tools when they first try them. I certainly did. There is a steep learning curve at first, but it is worth making an effort, in my opinion, to get used to a CAT. I use my CAT for almost everything now, and you cut yourself off from a lot of work opportunities if you really can't use one.

Many CAT-users have a favourite and dislike using others.
The commonly used CAT tools are more or less compatible, and there are ways of transferring tran
... See more
A lot of translators hate CAT tools when they first try them. I certainly did. There is a steep learning curve at first, but it is worth making an effort, in my opinion, to get used to a CAT. I use my CAT for almost everything now, and you cut yourself off from a lot of work opportunities if you really can't use one.

Many CAT-users have a favourite and dislike using others.