Non-translation-specific project management and collaboration software/app?
Thread poster: Victoria Patience (X)
Victoria Patience (X)
Victoria Patience (X)
Local time: 21:02
Spanish to English
Jan 28, 2016

Hi all. Does anyone have any experience using non-translation specific collaboration and PM software or apps? I'm thinking Basecamp, Trello, ActiveCollab, Slack, etc.
I'm basically a freelancer and do lots of smallish jobs but work with a partner (she's the native Spanish speaker, I'm the native English speaker) and we share most of our jobs (i.e. one proofreading the other), and very occasionally when we can't deal with volume we bring in other translators we know. We each work from home
... See more
Hi all. Does anyone have any experience using non-translation specific collaboration and PM software or apps? I'm thinking Basecamp, Trello, ActiveCollab, Slack, etc.
I'm basically a freelancer and do lots of smallish jobs but work with a partner (she's the native Spanish speaker, I'm the native English speaker) and we share most of our jobs (i.e. one proofreading the other), and very occasionally when we can't deal with volume we bring in other translators we know. We each work from home and we need some kind of platform to track our jobs that includes a calendar/task list of some sort so we can see our availability and deadlines at a glance, possibly track hours, and (this might be getting too ambitious) also track payment. I don't need to create invoices through this, just a basic record of how much each job was worth and how it divvies up between the two of us. And it needs to be mobile friendly...
At the moment, we have a messy combination of Google calendar, Google spreadsheet for money, whatsapp for messages between us, etc etc. Is there anything better that you have tried?
Thanks!
Collapse

Pablo Strauss
Pablo Strauss  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 20:02
French to English
I'd also love to hear feedback on this Nov 29, 2017