reviewer/editor fee
Thread poster: nicolewang
nicolewang
nicolewang
New Zealand
Local time: 18:47
English to Chinese
Dec 24, 2015

Hi everyone, I recently have been asked to do some sort of review job, here are the job requirements:

1. review and edit content translated on website, (most of content will be marketing/UI)
2. quality assurance (ensure translation meets client's requirement, interact with translators/vendors to improve quality)
3. manage terminology glossaries if required, etc.

I am a qualified/experienced translator, I normally charge per word, however, it's the fir
... See more
Hi everyone, I recently have been asked to do some sort of review job, here are the job requirements:

1. review and edit content translated on website, (most of content will be marketing/UI)
2. quality assurance (ensure translation meets client's requirement, interact with translators/vendors to improve quality)
3. manage terminology glossaries if required, etc.

I am a qualified/experienced translator, I normally charge per word, however, it's the first time that i have to come up a hourly rate for this kind of job.

Could someone please provide some suggestions? I am thinking about USD 25/hour Thank you!!
Collapse

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 07:47
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
How much do you earn in an hour of translating? Dec 24, 2015

If you charge USD x for a word and translate let's say 300 words per hour your hourly fee should be 300x.

Andrea Halbritter
Andrea Halbritter  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:47
French to German
+ ...
25 USD is not much Dec 24, 2015

In Europe the fee would be more likely to be somewhat between 30 and 60 € per hour.

For Chinese it's likely to be at the high end, so personally I would not go under 45 or 50 €.

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:47
English to French
Up to you Dec 24, 2015

nicolewang wrote: