Thread poster: Ivona McCormick
Ivona McCormick
Ivona McCormick
United States
Local time: 06:59
English to Polish
+ ...
Apr 16, 2015

I just got new MacBook Pro (yay!) but where are my Polish fonts???

i did choose the Polish keyboard in preferences, and switched to Polish flag on top, but thought I would be able to use option+letter to get letters with diacritics. Doesn't seem to work... I am new to Mac, coming off PC. I looked at keyboard preview, and think that is going to take a while now to get used to new location of the letters, and a with diacritic being ' key etc. Additionally I don't see letters S (as in
... See more
I just got new MacBook Pro (yay!) but where are my Polish fonts???

i did choose the Polish keyboard in preferences, and switched to Polish flag on top, but thought I would be able to use option+letter to get letters with diacritics. Doesn't seem to work... I am new to Mac, coming off PC. I looked at keyboard preview, and think that is going to take a while now to get used to new location of the letters, and a with diacritic being ' key etc. Additionally I don't see letters S (as in swiat) and Z (as in zdzblo) HELP!
Collapse

Meta Arkadia
Meta Arkadia
Local time: 18:59
English to Indonesian
+ ...
McPolish Apr 17, 2015

Ivona wrote: I just got new MacBook Pro

Congrats! I just sent you a PM. A bit late, I'm afraid.

In the System Preferences (below the ), go to Keyboard | Input Sources, click on the + sign to add Polish (there's also Polish Pro, whatever that is).

Select the Polish keyboard at the top right of our screen:

Try out the Polish keyboard. A great help is selecting the Keyboard Viewer (under the Polish flag), and start playing with the dead keys.

Like this:

However, I don't know if you can use that keyboard under Windows...

(Sorry, don't know anything about Polish, apart from Żubrówka, and my CAT tool).

Cheers,

Hans

[Edited at 2015-04-17 11:37 GMT]

Neptunia
Neptunia
Local time: 12:59
Italian to English