Thread poster: Dvir Cafri
Dvir Cafri
Dvir Cafri  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 07:46
English to Hebrew
Oct 28, 2015

Hello.
I have a weird situation with SDL 2011. I am working on a large project with many UI items surrounded by tags. I have a TM and Termbase, but the results I get are without the tags (I guess they didn't exist in a previous version of the document). For such segments, Trados usually returns the 99% match result with 1% penalty for different formatting, but it somehow also adds the missing tags and places them in their proper place to create a perfect full match.

Problem
... See more
Hello.
I have a weird situation with SDL 2011. I am working on a large project with many UI items surrounded by tags. I have a TM and Termbase, but the results I get are without the tags (I guess they didn't exist in a previous version of the document). For such segments, Trados usually returns the 99% match result with 1% penalty for different formatting, but it somehow also adds the missing tags and places them in their proper place to create a perfect full match.

Problem is, for some reason I can't get Trados to copy the tags, only the original TM result without them. I can select everything (including the tags), but only the text is copied. I tried with ALT-1 (it always is the first result) and also by manually copying the whole segment in the TM result window using the mouse, but the tags aren't copied. Other matches (partial, CM, 100%) can be copied without a problem.

Any idea how I could copy the result with the tags? I'm desperate.

Here is an example. I replaced the regular tag brackets with round brackets since Proz's editor interprets tags:

Source segment:
(b)OK(/b): Confirm the action.

TM orignal match (in target language, of course):
OK: Confirm the action.

TM top result looks like this (in the target langauge):
(b)OK(/b): Confirm the action.

But I can't copy the tags in this result to the target segment, no matter how I tried.