Thread poster: Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:49
Russian to English
+ ...
Mar 18, 2015

I am a newbie to Trados, just downloaded a trial version of Studio 2014.
Multiterm seems not to be installed, and I can find no information on how to import my voluminous glossaries, which are in tab-delimited .TXT format, to Studio.
Is Multiterm something you have to buy separately?
Without it, is Studio 2014 lacking in any glossary function?? That seems impossible, but...

thanks,
Susan

Susan Welsh
United States
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
The answer to my question is... Mar 18, 2015

Indeed, the trial version of Studio can't deal with glossaries, according to the salesman. (So much for the "fully functional trial version.") But if you buy the product, then you get Multiterm, which is how this stuff is handled.
Maybe this answer will be of use to some other poor soul who tries to find an answer to a simple question on SDL Trados's Rube-Goldberg-like "documentation system."

Vladimir Pochinov
Vladimir Pochinov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 22:49
English to Russian
Using MultiTerm glossaries in SDL Trados Studio in the absence of MultiTerm Mar 21, 2015

Hi Susan,

You may use Glossary Converter, a stand-alone application developed by Gerhard Kordmann and freely available at http://www.translationzone.com/openexchange/app/glossaryconverter-476.html (you will need to obtain an SDL ID by creating an account first, if you don't have one already).

Regards,
Vladimir

[Edited
... See more
Hi Susan,

You may use Glossary Converter, a stand-alone application developed by Gerhard Kordmann and freely available at http://www.translationzone.com/openexchange/app/glossaryconverter-476.html (you will need to obtain an SDL ID by creating an account first, if you don't have one already).

Regards,
Vladimir

[Edited at 2015-03-21 06:32 GMT]
Collapse

Susan Welsh
United States
Russian to English
+ ...