Help with repeated translation of the same term
Thread poster: Sergio Ortiz Eirín
Sergio Ortiz Eirín
Sergio Ortiz Eirín
Spain
Local time: 06:49
Spanish to English
Oct 24, 2014

I'm just starting out with Trados (Studio 2014), and one of the things I'm finding very frustrating is that when I translate the term for a long government agency in a document, and then come across that same term later in the document, it offers absolutely no suggestions. I have to manually go back and see how I translated and copy and paste the text.
Please tell me that this ridiculously expensive software offers some kind of automated, and hopefully simple, solution to this problem. I h
... See more
I'm just starting out with Trados (Studio 2014), and one of the things I'm finding very frustrating is that when I translate the term for a long government agency in a document, and then come across that same term later in the document, it offers absolutely no suggestions. I have to manually go back and see how I translated and copy and paste the text.
Please tell me that this ridiculously expensive software offers some kind of automated, and hopefully simple, solution to this problem. I have an active TM (my one and only TM so far) and I'm confirming the translation of every segment before moving on to the next.
Thanks!
Collapse

Amnon Shapira
Amnon Shapira  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 07:49
Member (2011)
English to Hebrew
Use Multiterm Oct 24, 2014

Hi Sergio,
Use the "Add New Term" option of Multiterm, add your translation and you will get it each time it's part of your source text.

Denise Phelps
Denise Phelps  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
+ ...
Concordance Oct 24, 2014

Alternatively, highlight and right click the term in source and select concordance. Then copy and paste from the results window.

Sergio Ortiz Eirín
Sergio Ortiz Eirín
Spain
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Multiterm Oct 24, 2014