SDL Trados 2014, which to use: Freelance, Freelance Plus, or Starter?
Thread poster: Jack Ward
Jack Ward
Jack Ward  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
Sep 27, 2014

Hi all,

I'm a casual freelance translator who up to now has used Wordfast classic.

I now wish to move to SDL Trados 2014 but I am not sure whether to opt for Freelance, Freelance Plus, or Starter. I translate around 1,000 words per week on average. The main agency I work for also use SDL Trados 2014, and this is the reason I want to change software. The agency simply sends me the source file, I translate it, and send it back to them. In other words, my usage is quite st
... See more
Hi all,

I'm a casual freelance translator who up to now has used Wordfast classic.

I now wish to move to SDL Trados 2014 but I am not sure whether to opt for Freelance, Freelance Plus, or Starter. I translate around 1,000 words per week on average. The main agency I work for also use SDL Trados 2014, and this is the reason I want to change software. The agency simply sends me the source file, I translate it, and send it back to them. In other words, my usage is quite straightforward.

What do you guys recommend I buy?

Kind regards,

Jack

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2014-09-29 17:17 GMT]
Collapse

Anthony Teixeira
Anthony Teixeira
Japan
Local time: 11:12
Member (2011)
English to French
+ ...
- Sep 29, 2014

If your client is willing to send you project packages rather than individual files, SDL Trados Starter might be good enough.
This version has rather annoying restrictions, though: the maximum TM size is limited if you work on individual files rather than packages, and some helpful features are disabled (autosuggest and the apps you can find on OpenExchange - some of them are really great).

The Freelance version doesn't have these restrictions, but it may be a little expensiv
... See more