Thread poster: Oliver Hartmann (X)
Oliver Hartmann (X)
Oliver Hartmann (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:53
English to German
Sep 23, 2011

Hi all,

I know this subject has been discussed many times on here, but I never could find the answer to my problem and hope to find help here.

First of all, I'm new to Trados and only attended the basic SDL Trados 2009 training course.
My client sent me a package with multiple files, a TM and TB's, which I manged to open and use for the translation. Now that I finished the translation, my client is asking me to create a return package and send it back to him. Whe
... See more
Hi all,

I know this subject has been discussed many times on here, but I never could find the answer to my problem and hope to find help here.

First of all, I'm new to Trados and only attended the basic SDL Trados 2009 training course.
My client sent me a package with multiple files, a TM and TB's, which I manged to open and use for the translation. Now that I finished the translation, my client is asking me to create a return package and send it back to him. When I right-click onto the translated sdlxliff file, the "create return package" field is greyed out and therefore I can't do it. I have the original project file (.sdlproj) in my project section together with all translated, bilingual files. The original file offers the option to create a return package, but it only contains the not-translated files in its original state as sent from my client. I have to translate only half of the files now and submit them before I start on the second half.
Now the question: Which file do I select to create a return package? I thought I have to use the sdlxliff file to create the return package, but maybe I have to use the sdlproj file and update it somehow with the sdlxliff files???
As you can clearly see, I haven't got a clue what I'm really doing with a package. Maybe I'm doing something wrong from the moment I'm opening the package.