seika
seika  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:34
Member (2006)
Japanese to English
+ ...
Aug 11, 2014

I received an email asking me if I'm interested in translating a 320-page book. The sender uses gmail and there's no information on the agency other than the sender's name. I told him I would be happy to do it if he/they can pay me advance pay, since I have never worked for him before.

His reply was: Actually I represent an agency and we are situated in Cheshire, UK.
Please reply ASAP. We would really appreciate if you can do the sample translation for us. It will help us to
... See more
I received an email asking me if I'm interested in translating a 320-page book. The sender uses gmail and there's no information on the agency other than the sender's name. I told him I would be happy to do it if he/they can pay me advance pay, since I have never worked for him before.

His reply was: Actually I represent an agency and we are situated in Cheshire, UK.
Please reply ASAP. We would really appreciate if you can do the sample translation for us. It will help us to examine the quality then. More you will know about us and the book after we see your translation and if chosen to work with us.

One of my colleagues said she had the same experience before but it didn't end well because the publisher was a second-rate one.

Should I take this 'sample test" (a page from the book)...?
Have you had similar experience?
Collapse

Gerard de Noord
Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 10:34
Member (2003)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Just forget about it Aug 11, 2014

Serious, professional people write serious, professional e-mails when they have projects of any size, and certainly when they have a book they want to be translated.

Such people introduce themselves or their companies in their first e-mail, because they want to convice you that you should cooperate with them.

Ignore this amateur,
Gerard

seika
seika  Identity Verified
United States