Irina Komoliatova
Irina Komoliatova  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 12:53
Russian to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 15, 2016

Hello to everyone!
I am new to Worfast and I need to proofread a docx.tmlx.doc file. When I open it in Wordfast Pro (free version), I can see the source text and the translation in the Source column. The target column remains empty. Should it be like this? How do I proofread the file?
Thank you in advance.

Andriy Yasharov
Andriy Yasharov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 17:53
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
segmentation Jul 15, 2016

The file most probably has not been properly segmented. Normally there should be a source piece of text on the left and a target one on the right. The free version allows you to proofread and to translate as well.

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

.txml.doc??? Jul 15, 2016

Just wondering, has the file been exported as a .doc already? In this case just open in MS Word.

Wordfast files are .txml, if it ends in .doc then it's a word file.

I'm guessing you might be trying to open the exported bilingual file with Wordfast, which is leading it to treat it as a whole new translatable source file (with both source and translated source in the left column).

Irina Komoliatova
Irina Komoliatova  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 12:53
Russian to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
bilingual file Jul 15, 2016

DJHartmann wrote:

Just wondering, has the file been exported as a .doc already? In this case just open in MS Word.

Wordfast files are .txml, if it ends in .doc then it's a word file.

I'm guessing you might be trying to open the exported bilingual file with Wordfast, which is leading it to treat it as a whole new translatable source file (with both source and translated source in the left column).