Is there a good interface for proofreading and editing translations?
Thread poster: translatorpolly
translatorpolly
translatorpolly
Hong Kong
Jun 14, 2016

Hi there,

I am a freelance translator familiar with the use of CAT tools such as WordFast Pro. I have recently received a number of cases where I am responsible for proofreading/ editing a translation done by a third party translation team. Both the source and the translation documents are in Microsoft Word .docx format. I am looking for a software that can align the text in the two .docx documents side-by-side for editing, while remembering all its original style formats. Ideally,
... See more
Hi there,

I am a freelance translator familiar with the use of CAT tools such as WordFast Pro. I have recently received a number of cases where I am responsible for proofreading/ editing a translation done by a third party translation team. Both the source and the translation documents are in Microsoft Word .docx format. I am looking for a software that can align the text in the two .docx documents side-by-side for editing, while remembering all its original style formats. Ideally, I would be able to edit the text in the interface and can eventually output a Microsoft Word .docx that preserves all the original formatting of source .docx for my client.

Any suggestions are welcome. Many thanks in advance for your input.

Best regards,
Polly
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:45
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Won't Word do all of that? Jun 14, 2016