Thread poster: Catherine Woodsmith
Catherine Woodsmith
Catherine Woodsmith
Local time: 09:32
French to English
+ ...
Aug 12, 2016

Hello,
I am a teacher wishing to move into a career in translation. To do so I would like to study a part-time distance MA while still working. I am trying to decide between Birmingham, Bristol and Portsmouth and would like to know which would stand me in better stead in terms of employability. As far as I know, Birmingham and Bristol are more academically respected institutions. Birmingham and Portsmouth have EMT accreditation but Bristol does not. Bristol's course has ITI accreditation.
... See more
Hello,
I am a teacher wishing to move into a career in translation. To do so I would like to study a part-time distance MA while still working. I am trying to decide between Birmingham, Bristol and Portsmouth and would like to know which would stand me in better stead in terms of employability. As far as I know, Birmingham and Bristol are more academically respected institutions. Birmingham and Portsmouth have EMT accreditation but Bristol does not. Bristol's course has ITI accreditation. Does anyone know if either EMT or ITI if more widely recognised / respected or are they much of a muchness? Has anyone had a particularly good/bad experience during or after studying any of these courses? I am a little put off Birmingham as it is a few thousand pounds more expensive than the other two and it doesn't seem as flexible in terms of modules but Birmingham is the highest of the three in UK University rankings.
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated,
Cat
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:32
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Are you going to be looking for a job? Aug 15, 2016

Cat_Smith wrote: