Questions about writing a translation CV with no work experience
Thread poster: Nidhi27
Nidhi27
Nidhi27
India
Japanese to English
Feb 10, 2016

Hello,
I'm an Indian student currently studying to obtain a Bachelor's degree in Economics, and I have passed the JLPT N2 in Dec.2015. I am writing a CV for the first time to apply for a Jap-Eng translation job with an IT services company, but I have zero work experience.
So far I have written the following in the extra-curricular activities section :
•Won the 1st prize in the Senior Group of the West Zone Japanese Language Speech Contest, 2015 and proceeded to participate
... See more
Hello,
I'm an Indian student currently studying to obtain a Bachelor's degree in Economics, and I have passed the JLPT N2 in Dec.2015. I am writing a CV for the first time to apply for a Jap-Eng translation job with an IT services company, but I have zero work experience.
So far I have written the following in the extra-curricular activities section :
•Won the 1st prize in the Senior Group of the West Zone Japanese Language Speech Contest, 2015 and proceeded to participate in the 28th All India Japanese Language Speech Contest.
•Participated in the Workshop on Japanese Language Education organized by the Japan Foundation in January 2016.
•Participated in ESPN Spelling Champs, a national level spelling bee, in 2009.

Are there any changes required? What more can I add to make my resume appear attractive? I am currently helping a Japanese person with his English while he helps me with my Japanese, and we speak almost on a daily basis since Nov.,2014. Besides this, I have an account on the popular language exchange site, Lang-8, on which I sometimes post in Japanese. Would it be acceptable to add that?

[Edited at 2016-02-10 15:07 GMT]
Collapse

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 18:55
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Some Feedback Feb 10, 2016

1. Do not exceed one page.