Poll: What type of work do you prefer?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Oct 11, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "What type of work do you prefer?".

This poll was originally submitted by Abdelhalim Zeid. View the poll results »

EvaVer (X)
EvaVer (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:35
Czech to French
+ ...
Nobody likes interpreting? Oct 11, 2015

Maybe because interpreters are not at their computers on a Sunday. I prefer translating but many people around me thrive on interpreting and would do nothing else. How can anyone like proofreading? Aaaaarrrrrgggghhh!

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 18:35
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Translation by far! Oct 11, 2015

As I said before (another repeated poll) I have been working as a full-time translator for over 30 years and I have never even thought of being an interpreter. I lack the interpersonal skills and quick tongue needed to be an interpreter. I’m kind of a perfectionist by nature and I like having the time to pay attention to all the details and the style of the source documents, as well as the accuracy and significance of the terms used. Immediacy is not my specialty!

In general, I d
... See more
As I said before (another repeated poll) I have been working as a full-time translator for over 30 years and I have never even thought of being an interpreter. I lack the interpersonal skills and quick tongue needed to be an interpreter. I’m kind of a perfectionist by nature and I like having the time to pay attention to all the details and the style of the source documents, as well as the accuracy and significance of the terms used. Immediacy is not my specialty!