Poll: Have you ever used a cloud-based TM tool?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jul 17, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you ever used a cloud-based TM tool?".

View the poll results »

Michael Harris
Michael Harris  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:30
Member (2006)
German to English
Other Jul 17, 2015

I had used a couple of them in the past and they were a pain inthe neck, but recently, I used one from a Swedish agency and I must admit, I was impressed and would use it again.
There were a couple of issues, but they could be resolved.

564354352 (X)
564354352 (X)  Identity Verified
Denmark
Danish to English
+ ...
Yes, WordFast Jul 17, 2015

At the risk of sounding ignorant, but this is what you mean, isn't it?

I tried WordFast just once and applied it's TM facility (sorry to speak vaguely here, I'm not an expert on cloud-based resources). I was quite impressed with the result.

However, as a rule, I don't want to use cloud-based TM's for the obvious confidentiality issues.

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
No Jul 17, 2015

I'm wary of all things "cloud-based". The whole concept is just too (ahem) nebulous for my liking. The other day, I tried out Dropbox out of curiosity and wished I hadn't, after wasting about an hour finding out how it worked before finally deactivating the blessed thing.
I wish the perpetrators all these would-be "new, improved" nuisance items would just go away and leave me in peace to get on with my work.

Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz
Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz  Identity Verified
Poland
English to Polish
+ ...
No, and forget it Jul 17, 2015

As per title.

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
No, and would not want to Jul 17, 2015

Call me a dinosaur, but I don't see the advantages, only the risks.