Poll: Would you describe yourself as a self-taught translator or interpreter?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jun 14, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Would you describe yourself as a self-taught translator or interpreter?".

View the poll results »

Muriel Vasconcellos
Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:02
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
No Jun 14, 2015

I owe most of what I know to my teachers in language, linguistics, editing, translation theory, and the fields I've specialized in, as well as to my supervisors and senior colleagues who patiently coached me when I worked as an in-house translator for more than 20 years.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 16:02
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Yes and no! Jun 14, 2015

I have a degree in economics. In my day there were no translation courses available in my country and besides I don’t think that being a translator had crossed my mind by then, though I’ve always been very interested in languages and I read a lot in English and French at a very young age. So when I began translating over 40 years ago, I had to learn it all on my own. Working in-house for 20 years gave me the experience, the insight and the drive needed to start working as a freelance when I ... See more