Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Would you retire as a translator if you won the lottery?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jun 13, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Would you retire as a translator if you won the lottery?".

This poll was originally submitted by Natalia Pedrosa. View the poll results »

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 01:15
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No! Jun 13, 2015

As I said the last time this same question was asked: I most definitely would not retire as a translator, I'll keep on working at a slower pace and only for a chosen few...

http://www.proz.com/forum/poll_discussion/269020-poll_would_you_continue_to_work_as_a_translator_if_you_won_the_lottery.html
<
... See more
As I said the last time this same question was asked: I most definitely would not retire as a translator, I'll keep on working at a slower pace and only for a chosen few...

http://www.proz.com/forum/poll_discussion/269020-poll_would_you_continue_to_work_as_a_translator_if_you_won_the_lottery.html

[Edited at 2015-06-13 08:24 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-06-13 08:25 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-06-13 08:26 GMT]
Collapse

EvaVer (X)
EvaVer (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:15
Czech to French
+ ...
Yes, definitely... Jun 13, 2015

... but not on the spot. It is not easy to stop a business in full swing. Moreover, in my country, you must absolutely keep mum about any money you may have - otherwise, people will poison your animals, set fire to your car and/or house... Stopping immediately would be too visible.

564354352 (X)
564354352 (X)  Identity Verified
Denmark
Danish to English
+ ...
Yes, definitely Jun 13, 2015

Translation is something I DO to make a living, it is not something that I AM.