Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Has working as a translator affected your eyesight?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jun 11, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Has working as a translator affected your eyesight?".

This poll was originally submitted by Ravi Kumar. View the poll results »

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 10:37
Spanish to English
+ ...
Other Jun 11, 2015

I originally answered yes, slightly, but my eyesight would probably have deteriorated anyway with ageing. I've been wearing glasses for reading for about 10 years now.

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Interesting question Jun 11, 2015

It's hard to tell.

My eyesight was fine for my first 15 years as a translator but has gone downhill fast the last few years. Whether that is computer-related or not I don't know. In theory, it shouldn't be, because screens have got better. But then modern technology also means you don't switch back and forth between screen and paper source text. I still check on paper, which must help a bit.

On balance, sports-related mud and ageing are probably the main causes of the r
... See more
It's hard to tell.

My eyesight was fine for my first 15 years as a translator but has gone downhill fast the last few years. Whether that is computer-related or not I don't know. In theory, it shouldn't be, because screens have got better. But then modern technology also means you don't switch back and forth between screen and paper source text. I still check on paper, which must help a bit.

On balance, sports-related mud and ageing are probably the main causes of the recent decline.

But I have always suffered from eye strain and back strain when I work long hours, which is why I like to stick to four six-hour days a week as far as possible. Once I start working, I just don't get round to breaks and stretching and eye exercises.
Collapse