Poll: Do you suffer from any health conditions as a result of your work as a translator/interpreter?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Nov 9, 2014

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Do you suffer from any health conditions as a result of your work as a translator/interpreter?".

This poll was originally submitted by Dalibor Uhlik. View the poll results »

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 05:39
Spanish to English
+ ...
Other Nov 9, 2014

Not really. I was having some bother with my wrists and back but Dragon speech recognition SW seems to have stopped that.

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:39
Russian to English
+ ...
No, just because I work as an interpreter as well, just to Nov 9, 2014

get out of the house--not only for that reason, but mostly to see the world, and walk like humans are supposed to do-- to assume the upright position, from time to time.

I think full-time translation work is potentially hazardous to your health, if you don't make breaks and walk for an hour or two.

It can cause spine problems, obesity, eyesight problems and carpal tunnel syndrome. So, please protect your health, since you've got only one. Take breaks, walk, exercis
... See more
get out of the house--not only for that reason, but mostly to see the world, and walk like humans are supposed to do-- to assume the upright position, from time to time.

I think full-time translation work is potentially hazardous to your health, if you don't make breaks and walk for an hour or two.

It can cause spine problems, obesity, eyesight problems and carpal tunnel syndrome. So, please protect your health, since you've got only one. Take breaks, walk, exercise, lay down, and do not work too many hours. Eight is plenty.

[Edited at 2014-11-09 08:53 GMT]
Collapse

Muriel Vasconcellos
Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:39
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...