Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Have you ever used a typewriter for working on your translations?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Aug 23, 2014

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you ever used a typewriter for working on your translations?".

This poll was originally submitted by Oleg Delendyk. View the poll results »

Jack Doughty
Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:46
Russian to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Yes Aug 23, 2014

I've been freelancing since 1965, so there was no other option till around 1990.

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:46
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Yes Aug 23, 2014

way back in the last millennium ( ) when I started out as an in-house translator. It took some 13 years until the first computers arrived in our office, which could only be used for the regular translations, no Internet connection. Those were the days... that I don't really miss.

Although I've heard rumors that some companies (governments?) begin to dig out their old typewriters for top secret materials... the only wa
... See more
way back in the last millennium ( ) when I started out as an in-house translator. It took some 13 years until the first computers arrived in our office, which could only be used for the regular translations, no Internet connection. Those were the days... that I don't really miss.

Although I've heard rumors that some companies (governments?) begin to dig out their old typewriters for top secret materials... the only way to be safe from "spies".
Collapse

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
No, but I regularly use a pencil Aug 23, 2014

My father - now aged 93 - gave up on typewriters because they did not handle the alphabets he was using well - translating from New Testament Greek to Marathi.

He did use a typewriter for English.