Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: How often do you agree to perform sample translations free of charge?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Dec 6, 2013

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "How often do you agree to perform sample translations free of charge?".

This poll was originally submitted by Anne-Sophie Cardinal. View the poll results »

Tim Drayton
Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 03:16
Turkish to English
+ ...
Always Dec 6, 2013

For potential new clients, always, provided the test text is of an acceptable length and they can wait until I have some free time to do it in. I do not simply expect people to take my word for it that I am a top-notch legal translator from Turkish to English; I am happy to demonstrate that I am.

Anna Spanoudaki-Thurm
Anna Spanoudaki-Thurm  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:16
German to Greek
+ ...
Me too! Dec 6, 2013

For me, sample translations are simply a good investment of time.

Markus Perndl
Markus Perndl
Austria
Italian to German
+ ...
Always... Dec 6, 2013

... provided that I receive a "test payment" free of work!

A new collaboration is always a risk for both parties, for the client and for the supplier. So why should a translator with a proven experience of several years be treated like a little school boy?

I think that we translators should be more self-confident and meet our clients on an equal footing.

[Bearbeitet am 2013-12-06 09:23 GMT]

Julian Holmes
Julian Holmes  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 10:16
Member (2011)
Japanese to English
I used to reply 'Always' Dec 6, 2013

They are are good opportunity to showcase your skills.
However, after 30 years of trial translations, I am beginning to get weary of them.

These days, it really does depend on how I feel about the other party. If they seem sincere and serious and just as cautious as I am, I will be willing to do a short piece.