Thread poster: OwenE
OwenE
OwenE
France
French to English
+ ...
Feb 1, 2017

Hello,

I am new to freelance translating and have been asked to quote for translating a technical manual and specifications for a machine (that cleans tram wheels). I have worked out that there are 38000 words. If I charge on the basis of 10c(0.10€) per word that comes out at €3800 to be completed over a two month period. My questions to the more experienced translators are:
Does that rate sound really high?
The company wants me to go to their offices with the tran
... See more
Hello,

I am new to freelance translating and have been asked to quote for translating a technical manual and specifications for a machine (that cleans tram wheels). I have worked out that there are 38000 words. If I charge on the basis of 10c(0.10€) per word that comes out at €3800 to be completed over a two month period. My questions to the more experienced translators are:
The company wants me to go to their offices with the translation and review it with one of their engineers to do the final proof reading and reviewing. Should I charge extra for this time?
Would an agency charge much less?
Am I pricing myself out of this job? I normally charge between .11€ and .14€ per word.

I would appreciate any advice.

Thank you.
Collapse

Jean Lachaud
Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:14
English to French
+ ...
think about this Feb 2, 2017

Why would you trust advice given by competitors?

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:14
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
Why high? Feb 2, 2017

OwenE wrote:

€3800 is equivalent to annual income of €22800. Does that sound high to you? Why are you not charging your usual rate?

Dan

Gabriele Demuth
Gabriele Demuth  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to German
38000 Feb 2, 2017

Dan Lucas wrote:

OwenE wrote: