Invoicing international clients outside of a freelancing platform
Thread poster: Marlon Aviz
Marlon Aviz
Marlon Aviz
Brazil
Local time: 18:01
English to Portuguese
Jan 17, 2017

I'm kinda new in the Translation Industry and I've been reading a lot of articles around the internet to help me, but I still have these doubts. If there is any experienced professional to help me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Outside of a freelancing platform we have PayPal, Skrill etc, but we don't have a payment guarantee, so how do I go about negotiating payment terms with my client to guarantee I get paid?

I've read articles suggesting 50% down payment, or 1 week
... See more
I'm kinda new in the Translation Industry and I've been reading a lot of articles around the internet to help me, but I still have these doubts. If there is any experienced professional to help me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Outside of a freelancing platform we have PayPal, Skrill etc, but we don't have a payment guarantee, so how do I go about negotiating payment terms with my client to guarantee I get paid?

I've read articles suggesting 50% down payment, or 1 week of work worth upfront payment (in a hourly job for instance), but I fear that by asking I'd be losing clients because I don't have, yet, a reputation or work history for them to trust me enough to do upfront payments.

International invoices carry no penalties if the client decides not to pay. He/she can simply not pay and what could I do? If it was in my country it would be easier to legally deal with it, but what can I do with international clients?
Collapse

Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:01
Russian to English
+ ...
There are no guarantees Jan 18, 2017