Thread poster: Nathalie Suteau (X)
Nathalie Suteau (X)
Nathalie Suteau (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:06
English to French
Feb 4, 2016

Hello,

My language pair is EN=>FR, specialized in IT.

I've been working for the 3 same agencies for the past 15 years and all of them keep on decreasing my rates. I was at 0.11€ in 2000, I'm now between 0.075 and 0.08€.

The agencies are located in France and Belgium.

They put a huge pressure on me: I have to accept the new rates or they will stop working with me.

I have checked this board carefully and I've noticed that a lot o
... See more
Hello,

I've been working for the 3 same agencies for the past 15 years and all of them keep on decreasing my rates. I was at 0.11€ in 2000, I'm now between 0.075 and 0.08€.

They put a huge pressure on me: I have to accept the new rates or they will stop working with me.

I have checked this board carefully and I've noticed that a lot of translators manage to get rates around 0.11-0.13€ through agencies located outside of France and Belgium.

Does some of you manage to get this type of rates for my language combination and specialization or is it such a myth?

Many thanks!

Nathalie
Collapse

Erik Freitag
Erik Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 07:06
Member (2006)
Dutch to German
+ ...
They haven't lowered your rates - you have! Feb 4, 2016

Nathalie Suteau wrote:

Hello,

Turn it around: Why should they stop trying to get lower rates from you? It seems to have worked every time so far.

They can't lower your rates. The only one who can do that is you. Just don't.

[Edited at 2016-02-04 14:36 GMT]

Nathalie Suteau (X)
Nathalie Suteau (X)
United Kingdom
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
OK but Feb 4, 2016

When I receive this type of email, what am I supposed to do: