Thread poster: marie trad
marie trad
marie trad  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:04
English to French
+ ...
Jan 29, 2015

HI everyone,

I am quite new to the industry and am now in discussion with a client who would need me to be available on a daily basis for website updates (new products descriptions, e-commerce ads). What kind of fee should I charge for the "availability" he requests ? (monthly basic ?)

Also, he is suggesting a flat rate per ad/product and not per word, which is hard to determine since the ads are never the same wordcount.

Ideally, he would need the translat
... See more
HI everyone,

I am quite new to the industry and am now in discussion with a client who would need me to be available on a daily basis for website updates (new products descriptions, e-commerce ads). What kind of fee should I charge for the "availability" he requests ? (monthly basic ?)

Also, he is suggesting a flat rate per ad/product and not per word, which is hard to determine since the ads are never the same wordcount.

Ideally, he would need the translations done within a 24 hour timeframe. Is this considered a rush or tight deadline?

Any suggestions ?

Thanks for your help.
Collapse

Anton Konashenok
Anton Konashenok  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
French to English
+ ...
Establish a minimum monthly fee Jan 30, 2015

Most such contracts are a lot of hassle for little money, but if you feel you want to get involved, then the most reasonable way would be to agree on a monthly fee of X euro, which would cover your availability and your work up to Y words within that month. Anything in excess of Y would be invoiced on a per-word basis and payable with next month's fee. As to the actual values of X and Y, only you can determine it adequately. Just consider the minimum amount of work that would make it worth your ... See more