Translation, Subtitling and Proofreading Rates for Greek language.
Thread poster: Kyriaki Kiza
Kyriaki Kiza
Kyriaki Kiza
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:37
English to Greek
+ ...
Sep 9, 2014

Hello,
I really need your help!
I am a translator in the UK for a year now but I am still confused with the rates regarding translations, subtitling and proofreading.
I must admit my rates vary depending on the job but i'd rather stick to a fixed rate and then if I must adjust it.
I translate from and to Greek (from English).
I have checked online for average rates but it varies... Per hour, per word, some say its the same... I don't want to ask for too much and
... See more
Hello,
I really need your help!
I am a translator in the UK for a year now but I am still confused with the rates regarding translations, subtitling and proofreading.
I must admit my rates vary depending on the job but i'd rather stick to a fixed rate and then if I must adjust it.
I translate from and to Greek (from English).
I have checked online for average rates but it varies... Per hour, per word, some say its the same... I don't want to ask for too much and lose jobs but neither the opposite.
More or less what is the preferred rates to have in your opinion?
Thank you all!
Regards,
Kyriaki
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
How much is your hourly rate? Sep 10, 2014

You don't need to tell us, but you do have to know what you need/want to charge for an hour of you time. There's a tool here to help you calculate your needs.

Once you have that figure you can calculate how much that equates to per word, page, subtitle, audio minute...

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Danish to English
+ ...
Typical 'market rates' are just as important to know Sep 10, 2014