Thread poster: Translatorprof
Translatorprof
Translatorprof
United Kingdom
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 14, 2014

Hello fellow translators!!

I'm new to freelance translation and have a prospective first client offering 1 Euro per 100 words, judging by most of the standard rates on-line (EUR 0.10 per source word) this is ridiculously low, would anyone outright advise me to refuse to work for such a low price?-I wasn't sure if it'd be a good idea to maybe just take it on seeing as it's a first job to put on the CV and all that but nor I do I want to be potentially undercutting other translators a
... See more

I'm new to freelance translation and have a prospective first client offering 1 Euro per 100 words, judging by most of the standard rates on-line (EUR 0.10 per source word) this is ridiculously low, would anyone outright advise me to refuse to work for such a low price?-I wasn't sure if it'd be a good idea to maybe just take it on seeing as it's a first job to put on the CV and all that but nor I do I want to be potentially undercutting other translators and setting a standard for clients offering lower prices.

In these situations do people barter?-As you can see, I am very green so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks and bon weekend!
Collapse

Andy Lemminger
Andy Lemminger  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 05:41
Member (2002)
English to German
No Jun 14, 2014

When someone offers such a ridiculous rate there's no point in bartering, you just say no.

Andy Watkinson
Andy Watkinson
Spain
Local time: 12:41
Catalan to English
+ ...
Which figure is correct? Jun 14, 2014

Translatorprof wrote:

I'm new to freelance translation and have a prospective first client offering 1 Euro per 100 words, judging by most of the standard rates on-line (EUR 0.10 per source word) this is ridiculously...calculated.......

"EUR 0.10 per source word" is by no means unreasonable.
EUR 0.01 per source word is.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain